Imaginative Act

I think it was the sf writer Theodore Sturgeon who said, “90 percent of fantasy writing is crap and 90 percent of everything is crap.”

But then I don’t like polished books. Whenever I read a polished book I can’t help thinking I’m being duped or else ridiculed. It’s the same thing I feel when I’m reading a crime novel or a thriller; it’s not about reading it’s more about solving. That kind of work is like a nudist and I prefer the slow zipper on the dress that occasionally gets caught. It’s a lot more fun.

“Fantasy rises above and dips way below reality and redeems the sorrowful life.”

I like the inconsistencies, the rough edges, the sloppiness that always keeps you going back for more in a book — the more being what you think you’ve missed or what you were made to deliberately miss.

The cool thing to me about fantastical work is that it is desperate to make the world more interesting than it really is. I mean what are writers? Aren’t we all just still storytellers who are good at driving away the terrors of darkness? That’s our inheritance.

I don’t know who wrote this but I like this idea a lot: “In fairy tales, the energy that drives life is not material and can’t be quantified, it’s like the Golden Goose laying her eggs.”

“I have wondered if there isn’t some real connection between a certain kind of scientific-mindedness (the explorative, synthesizing kind) and fantasy-mindedness. Those who dislike fantasy are very often equally bored or repelled by science. They don’t like either hobbits, or quasars; they don’t feel at home with them; they don’t want complexities, remoteness. If there is any such connection, I’ll bet that it is basically an aesthetic one.” Ursula Le Guin

Leave a Reply

