The Secret Life of the Brain

I like using my imaginative, deep trolling brain that loves that uninterrupted concentration like Rodin’s The Thinker.

But I hear that kind of brain is soon to become an endangered species. It is going to be replaced with the Internet Brain, a soft organ that consists of three parts: Google, Facebook, and Wireless. It may even add on an app called Thinking, if we have the time, which is unlikely.

Our brains are leading a secret life, it seems. One in which we hardly figure. And if we do, it will just be to text a message or surf the Web for similar brains doing nothing.

We all know, or have been told, that the Web is the font of all human knowledge, a huge supercomputer of interconnected human beings all crying out, “Dave, my mind is going. I can feel it. I can feel it.”

So I am not alone. Because I can feel that old brain wandering off to the savanna of the Web where it can graze for hours without ever having to worry about an original thought pouncing up on it or ever running out of fodder — ever.

Of course this makes all our brains more democratic as we are wired into this Brave New World of information, awash in its virtual glow, made smarter by its billion stars of binary wizardry.

And, yet, I read a book and feel like the whole world has come to me.

Funny, that. I guess I just might have taken my brain back for a bit.

Which reminds me, that Internet Brain is only on loan. After the Web’s done with it, we still have to live with it.

It’s not like we can trade it in for a newer model. At least not yet.

Currently thinking about reading: The Shallows: What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains by Nicholas Carr.

Leave a Reply

